share this page

Sports Scholarship Programme


Closing date for Applications is 5.00pm 25th September 2018.


CIT Sport Scholarships are awarded to full-time registered students who display a high level of achievement, commitment and dedication to their chosen sport. These are awarded across a wide range of sports and a significant number of these are reserved for first year students.

Applicants who also display a high level of Sports Administration may be considered.

2015 awards saw a total 102 scholarships awarded including 33 CIT Freshers/Development, 42 CIT Senior, 14 Munster Council GAA, 11 Munster Rugby, as well as a 1 Cobh Ramblers FC.

The Programme has been in place at CIT since 1998 and over the years it has supported hundreds of up and coming sports stars in their quest to excel at their chosen sports.

Many of these students went on to become household names as they reached the top of both the national and international arenas. People like Rachel O'Shea (Athletics); Jane Mangan (Horse Racing); Anthony Nash, Michael Fennelly, John Gardiner, Ronan Curran, Lorcán McLoughlan, Mark Ellis (Hurling); Graham Canty, Ciarán Sheehan, Daniel Goulding, Paul Kerrigan, Colm O'Neill, Bryan Sheehan, Aidan O'Mahony (Football); Cliodhna Sargent, John Hobbs (Hockey); Juliet Murphy, Annie Walsh (Ladies Football); Eimear O'Sullivan, Jenny Duffy, Brenda Hanney (Camogie); Colin O'Reilly, Ciarán O'Sullivan, Rachel Vanderwal (Basketball); Gary O'Donovan, Shane O'Driscoll (Rowing); Nicholas O'Leary, Revelin Minihane (Sailing); Paudie O'Brien (Cycling); and Conor Skeehan (Racket Ball) all were supported by the CIT Sports Bursary Programme. Indeed they all began as 1st Bursary recipients and as they progressed throughout their sport they availed of the Bursary Support Programme up until their graduation.


Click on the tab on the left 'Sport Scholarship Criteria and Process'.


Sports Office

T: 00 353 21 433 5763 or
00 353 21 433 5764
E: or

GAA Office
T: 00 353 21 433 5765

Rugby Office
T: 00 353 21 433 5769

Soccer Office
T: 00 353 21 433 5768